Registration
Military Families
Our Schools
Stop Bullying
Curriculum and Instruction

Vernon Parish is committed to providing a curriculum that is rigorous, relevant, and addresses the 21st Century Skills. Our goal is to ensure learning through effective instruction in each classroom. The Louisiana Comprehensive Curriculum, which is based on benchmarks and standards for learning, is used in every grade level in English language arts, mathematics, science, and social studies.   Educators participate in continuous professional development around research-based best instructional practices. 

 

Our motto, "Every Child, Every Day, Whatever it Takes," keeps the student at the center of the educational process. This journey begins with our early childhood programs, Headstart and LA-4, where developmentally appropriate learning activities for children take place in an environment designed to address their social, emotional, physical, intellectual, and creative growth. 

 

As students move into the elementary grades, literacy and numeracy are the emphasis of instruction across the curriculum.  Students learn how to "think" and apply skills in all content areas in middle and high school.  Additional opportunities are offered through gifted, honors, advanced placement, dual enrollment, distant learning, and vocational studies.

 

In addition to the core curriculum, Vernon Parish schools offer a variety of electives, enrichments, and extracurricular activities. Needs of exceptional children are served according to federal, state, and local requirements.  These innovative programs help to prepare our graduates to continue their education and/or enter the workforce.

Contact Information

Curriculum Director - Anne Smith

Curriculum Director - Renita Page

Curriculum Supervisor - Debbie Clark

Curriculum Supervisor - Joey Whiddon

Curriculum Supervisor-Randy Lansdale

Curriculum Supervisor- Leslie Koenck

Curriculum Supervisor - Dwain Ducote

Curriculum Supervisor - Lisa Lohman

201 Belview Road

Leesville , LA 71446

 

Phone : 1-800-621-1742

  337-239-3401

 

Fax :  337-392-2517

 

Hours : Monday - Friday

8:00 - 12:00

1:00 - 4:30

 

Email :


 renitapage@vpsb.k12.la.us

 asmith@vpsb.k12.la.us  

  dclark@vpsb.k12.la.us  

jwhiddon@vpsb.k12.la.us  
 
rlansdale@vpsb.k12.la.us  

  lkoenck@vpsb.k12.la.us  

  lblohman@vpsb.k12.la.us  

dducote@vpsb.k12.la.us